top of page
  • Writer's pictureTaiwana McKinney

Choosing Wisely


Years ago, when I worked for an electronics company, everyone in our department l took breaks at the same time and sat at the same table on the same end of the break room. Many different conversations went on as people chattered among themselves. They weren't talking about anything important or noteworthy mainly gossip, talking down about someone, or talking about how drunk they got the weekend before. I was typically trying to read my Bible and usually getting interrupted by someone trying to pull me into these conversations with them.

One day I heard just as loud and clear in my spirit “come from among them”. I immediately thought of the scripture in 2 Corinthians 16:17 “therefore come out from among unbelievers separate yourselves from them, says the Lord. Don't touch their filthy things, and I will welcome you”. In my mind I was pondering what I’d just heard, wondering was I receiving that word for me or for someone else. I heard it a second time “come from among them” I then proceeded to grab my things and move to the other end of the break room and to another table. Needless to say, I then became the ridiculed and scorned. They talked about me saying things like “she thinks she's too good to sit with us”. I just ignored them because I knew that God had told me to make this move and that he had a good reason for doing so and I had to obey. If you can obey him in little things you won't hesitate to obey him when bigger things come along. From that day forward I sat in my little secluded area. Not long after that a lady transferred to our department from another department and a new hire joined our team as well. They both loved the Lord. Before long they became my new breakroom companions. We talked about the Lord and we eventually started a prayer team. We all have been friends ever since. God removed me from the unhealthy, ungodly talk and replaced it with godly talk, wisdom, encouragement, and prayer.

Hearing unhealthy and ungodly talk and chatter can contaminate and pollute our souls and spirits. I truly believe this is why God spoke to me that day. It was a lesson that I will never forget. Our scripture today in the Amplified version reads “Blessed [fortunate prosperous and favored by God] is the man who does not walk in the council of the wicked [following their advice and example], nor stand in the path of sinners, nor sit down [to rest] in the seat of the scoffers”.

As followers of Christ, we just can't listen to anybody's advice. We have to be careful who we listen to, who we sit down with, where we stand, and who we associate with. When it comes to allowing people in our lives, we have to be careful not to compromise our standards set by God our Father. Such acquaintances can hinder our walk and growth in the Lord. We have to be mindful of what we let into the entry gates (eyes, ears, nose, and mouth) to our soul and spirit because what goes in will eventually come out. We have to choose wisely who we associate with and befriend. Our journey depends on it. 2 Corinthians 6 :14 Amplified “Do not be unequally bound together with unbelievers (do not make mismatched alliances with them, inconsistent with your faith), for what partnership can righteousness have with lawlessness?, Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?"

Instead of entering into association with the wicked we’re to take pleasure in the word of God and meditate on it day and night (Psalm 1:2) When we do, we will have a sure foundation and whatever we do will prosper (Psalm 1:3).

Proverbs 4:24 -27 The Message - "Don't talk out of both sides of your mouth; avoid careless banter, white lies, and gossip. Keep your eyes straight ahead, ignore all sideshow distractions. Watch your step, and the road will stretch out smooth before you. Look neither to the right nor left, leave evil in the dust". God makes it clear, watch what we say, what we do, where we go, who we listen to for advice, and who we hang out with.



Matthew 10:16 tells us “to be wise as snakes and harmless as doves”. We are going to have to use wisdom and discernment to choose our associations and relationships wisely, but with the help of the Holy Spirit we can do it.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page