top of page
  • Writer's pictureKirby Keita

Where He Leads Me I Will Follow

Updated: Jan 1, 2021

Have you ever notice how a herd of sheep tends to follow their shepherd? First, the sheep has a good relationship with the shepherd.; the relationship is built off of trust and love because the shepherd takes good care of his herds. He feeds them, and protects them, comfort them. The sheep feels so loved that the shepherd's voice becomes priority in the sheep's head. Then the sheep is ready to lead other sheep as he follow the voice of the shepherd.


This is how we are as children of God, we are like sheep. When we come into the acknowledgement of Christ, we are described as sheep. We all like sheep have gone astray Isaiah 53:6; my sheep hear my voice, and I know them and they follow me. John 10:27

When we accept Christ as Lord and savior of our life, the Holy Spirit began to work within us, teaching and guiding us to hear the voice of God, we began to make mistakes because He is teaching us patience, and how to listen.


At a very young age, I found myself as a single mother of two baby boys, I had no clue as to how to raise them, I was so young that my responsibility exceeded me, I was saved, but had been a little slack in cultivating my relationship with my Lord and savior. I knew that if I did not focus on the voice and guidance of the Holy Spirit, My boys and I was going to suffer the consequences.


I began to open my bible each day, building my relationship with God, and while I was drawing near to Him, He began to draw near to me. each day I would continue to read my bible, and the more I read, the more I felt His presence and Love. His love became overwhelming, irresistible until I was able to hear His voice over any other voice. I never thought that I would hear a voice more influencing over my own mothers voice, but His voice had became that clear to me.


As I began to follow the voice of the Holy Spirit, the change in my life became more apparent. Today we are living through an epidemic, and there are a lot of uncertainties. Corona virus, the economy, and police brutality, but all we have to do is follow God's voice and He will lead us to a safe place. He will guide us away from danger. He wants us to trust Him at all times.

After raising my sons, I now realized that the only way that I was able to endure that task was to follow the voice of God. One way to build our relationship with God is through our worship. In the 4th chapter of John , Jesus teaches that we must worship in Spirit and in truth. Our worship should be mostly about our inward being than about how people view us outwardly, Christ changes us from the inside out.


Another way to build our relationship with God is through prayer. Prayer is our way of communicating with the Father in Jesus name. We confess our wrong, we pray for others, and we listen to what He is saying to us.


The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want; He maketheth me to lie down in green pastures; He leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: He guideth me in the paths of righteousness for His name sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for thou art with me; Thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies. Thou hast anointed my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; And I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever. Psalm: 23
10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page